• okrestnosti1.jpg
  • okrestnosti2.jpg
  • okrestnosti3.jpg
  • okrestnosti4.jpg
  • okrestnosti5.jpg
  • okrestnosti6.jpg

SPASSKAYA (HOLLY SAVIOR) CHURCH - Ubory village

16 kilometre distance to the East of Zvenigorod, on the left bank of the Moskva river there is located an ancient village Ubory. The settlement is known from 1504 as the Ovtsyns boyars’ inherited estate which bore the name of Lug Izborsk at that time. Ubory belonged to the Sheremetievs, afterwards the village had other owners but starting from 1883 till the revolution beginning the Sheremetievs again became its owners. The former country estate has not been saved, only the Spasskaya church and remains of the park and lakes have been preserved.

In 1673 a wooden church in the name of the Holy Saviour’s Image Not Made by Hand (in Russian – Spass Nerukotvornyi) and the village bore the name “Spasskoe” for some time. In 1694 Petr Vasilievich Sheremetiev decided to build a new stone church in his country estate and asked the famous architect Yakov Grigorievich Bukhvostov, who was a bondman of the okolnichiy (one of the highest boyars’ ranks in the old Russia) Tatischev, to do it. Bukhvostov violated the project deadline and according to the customer’s will (P.V. Sheremetiev) was imprisoned and “beaten by a whip unmercifully”. However the count wanted to finish his construction project so he freed the bond architect. The customer died just a few weeks before the church was built. He deceased in 1697.

The Spasskaya church is considered to be one of the best samples of Moscow baroque. Its architecture resembles the Church in Fili village. Its foresides are abundant of white stone carved architraves and woven columns with capitals. The church has three levels. Combination of white carved decorations with red brick makes the church especially beautiful. The location is especially good – the church looks like an integral part of the surrounding landscape. The most majestic and grand view you can see if you look at it from the Moskva river.

During the war of 1812 the church was ruined and desolated for a long time. In the Soviet times it was robbed by the authorities. A unique 25 meter gild carved iconostasis which had nine levels was destroyed. The golden bells were remelt. The church stayed empty for a long time, hay was stored there.

In the summer of 1995 the church was returned to the faithful. At that time His Holiness the Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia Aleksiy II visited it. Nowadays the church is almost rebuilt and visitors can admire its beauty and majesty.

The Holy Things. A big candlestick standing at the icon of Apostles Peter and Paul has been preserved from the old times.



Address: 143030, Moscow region, Odintsovskiy district, Ubory village, Parkovaya Str.

Telephone: 8(495)561-66-21.

Beneficiary of the church — priest Aleksandr Nikolaevich Sidorov, 1981.


Source: www.vidania.ru


EXTERNAL LINKS

Address, phones

  • Address: 12 Moscowskaya str., Zvenigorod, Moscow Region, 143180
  • Tel.: +7(495)597-70-28
  • Tel.: +7(495)721-25-26
  • Fax: +7(498)715-78-93
  • Email: reservation@tatiana-provence.ru
  • GPS:
    Latitude: 55°43′48.5″N (55.73014)
    Longitude: 36°51′11.38″E (36.85316)
Сейчас Вы здесь: SPASSKAYA CHURCH Ubory village